It’s Time to Ditch All Your Neutrals and Embrace Rainbow Fashion

Campbell Addy for WSJ. Magazine | Styling by Clare Richardson Sept. 29, 2021 8:32 am ET From left: Ludovic de Saint Sernin coat, $1,950, and pants, $450, ludovicdesaintsernin.com, Hermès sweater, $1,650, hermes.com; Bode coat, $2,650, and hat, $230, bodenewyork.com, Botter shirt, $1,170, and pants, $900, botter.world; Dior Men coat and […]

From left: Ludovic de Saint Sernin coat, $1,950, and pants, $450, ludovicdesaintsernin.com, Hermès sweater, $1,650, hermes.com; Bode coat, $2,650, and hat, $230, bodenewyork.com, Botter shirt, $1,170, and pants, $900, botter.world; Dior Men coat and shirt, prices upon request, dior.com, Paul Smith pants, $520, paulsmith.com.

Everyday wear doesn’t need to be dull. Brighten up your day by slipping on a mellow yellow trench coat from Dior Men, a scarlet sweater under a

Louis Vuitton

jacket or a bold blue head-to-toe look by Alexander McQueen. For this men’s fall fashion story, Ghanaian-British photographer Campbell Addy captured four models in moments of happiness, intimacy and togetherness. “I just wanted to create images that make me smile,” says Addy, who drew inspiration for this shoot from his recent trips to Ghana and Mexico, which he says reignited his love of rich hues. Each picture is its own jubilee, with the models dressed in pieces such as Bottega Veneta’s Kelly-green blazer, Gucci’s red-velvet pants, or Prada’s oversize patterned sweater. Jil Sander is even offering knit “bibs” in colors such as cherry red and sorbet yellow, here styled under the brand’s suiting. Says Addy, “The palette we shot with…just makes me feel happy.” —Jenny Hartman

Vibrant pieces look better together. Canali sweater, $495, canali.com.

From left: Prada sweater, $2,750, prada.com, Wales Bonner pants, $545, ssense.com; Paul Smith pants, $550, paulsmith.com.

Flared trousers and a chunky sweater look good from any angle. Fendi shirt, $1,290, fendi.com, S.S. Daley pants, $1,659, ssdaley.com, Adidas Originals by Wales Bonner sneakers, $180, walesbonner.net.

Red tones add a bold touch to classic suiting. From left: Y/Project jacket and pants, prices upon request, yproject.fr; Louis Vuitton jacket, $4,000, and pants, $645, louisvuitton.com, Adidas Originals by Wales Bonner sneakers, $160, walesbonner.net; Louis Vuitton jacket, $4,250, and pants, $945, louisvuitton.com, Jawara Alleyne sweater, price upon request, jawaraalleyne.com, Adidas Originals by Wales Bonner sneakers, $180, walesbonner.net.

On both: Jil Sander jacket, $2,150, and bib, $450, jilsander.com, Georgia Kemball necklace, $890, georgiakemball.com; Jil Sander jacket, $2,380, ssense.com, and bib, $450, jilsander.com, Georgia Kemball necklace, $890, georgiakemball.com.

Blue meets red with joyful results. Ka Wa Key polo shirt, $594, kawakey.com.

From left: Alexander McQueen sweater, $1,980, pants, $860, and belt, $790, alexandermcqueen.com; Alexander McQueen shirt, $660, pants, $860, and belt, $720, alexandermcqueen.com, Acne Studios earring, price upon request, acnestudios.com.

From left: Ludovic de Saint Sernin top, $435, ludovicdesaintsernin.com, Gucci pants, $1,300, gucci.com; Marni jacket, $1,750, sweater, $1,350, and pants, $870, marni.com.

Ghana’s flag makes an appearance in a nod to Ghanaian-British photographer Campbell Addy’s heritage. Burberry pants, price upon request, burberry.com, Gucci shoes, $850, gucci.com.

Play around with unexpected patterns and styles. Dolce & Gabbana pants, $1,595, dolcegabbana.com.

Bottega Veneta jacket, $3,200, bottegaveneta.com, Jil Sander necklace, $1,660, jilsander.com. Models, Mensah at Premier Model Management, Jefferson Obuseri at PRM, Olamide Chiedoziem at IMG Models, Benyam Mehari at 777 Casting Management; hair, Virginie Moreira; makeup, Chiao Li Hsu; manicure, Simone Cummings; set design, Ibby Njoya; movement director, Yagamoto.

Copyright ©2021 Dow Jones & Company, Inc. All Rights Reserved. 87990cbe856818d5eddac44c7b1cdeb8

https://www.wsj.com/articles/its-time-to-ditch-all-your-neutrals-and-embrace-rainbow-fashion-11632918745

Katheleen Knopf

Next Post

For This Colorado Springs Boutique Owner Who Opened Her Shop During The Pandemic, Shutting Her Doors Now Is Not A ‘Failed Experiment’

Fri Oct 1 , 2021
For many people trying to make their businesses work during the pandemic, COVID brought a harsh reality: fewer customers and masking mandates simply meant less business. This was especially the case for small, street-level retail stores. For those opening these businesses in 2020, the prospect of building a customer base […]